About Compact Nursing States

When you decide to work in several states as a nurse, you want to obtain an appropriate license and education. A Compact Nursing License allows you to work in several states and provides an opportunity to start traveling as a nurse. A key part of obtaining your goal is identifying the compact nursing states that allow you to work with an appropriate license, even if you currently live and work in a different state.

The Compact Nursing States

The compact nursing states are part of the Nurse Licensure Compact that allows you to work in 25 different states while obtaining a single license. The states include:

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Texas
  • Idaho
  • Utah
  • Colorado
  • New Mexico
  • North and South Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • Iowa
  • Missouri
  • Wisconsin
  • Mississippi
  • Kentucky
  • North and South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Delaware
  • Rhode Island
  • Virginia
  • Maryland
  • Maine
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire

When you obtain an appropriate compact nursing license, you have the ability to travel to all 25 states in the compact and work as a nurse. It is a convenient tool if you plan to work as a travel nurse.

Obtaining an Appropriate License

The license you need to work in the compact nursing states is a multi-state license. It allows you to take advantage of the nursing compact and start working as a travel nurse. The license gives you greater career opportunities and allows you to work in several areas to reach your long-term goals.

Obtaining a license is an essential part of working as a nurse. When you want to travel and work in several areas, a multi-state license allows you to take advantage of the compact nursing states and travel to different areas of the country.